General Teaching Council Northern Ireland

Sign-up to E-News

Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards Programme


 Pramerica Press Release

Ireland’s top 20 youth volunteers selected in Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards Programme


The students, who hail from all corners of the island of Ireland, will each receive €500 and an engraved silver medallion. They also will be honoured at a gala awards ceremony on 27th March at The City Hotel in Derry with special guest John Lonergan, former Governor of Mountjoy Prison.
At the gala, two of the students will be named All-Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year. They will each receive €1,000 for a charity of their choice, a gold medallion and an all-expense paid trip to the United States in May to participate in the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards ceremony.
“The 20 finalists are a credit to their communities,” said Nobel Laureate John Hume, who served as on the judging panel. “Their sheer determination and selflessness help make the world a better place for everyone. They are the future leaders in our society and they are a benchmark for other young people to strive towards. We are thrilled to honour their commitment to volunteerism through this awards programme. They are simply, an inspiration.”
The Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards honours second-level students for their outstanding commitment to volunteerism. The programme, the only one of its kind in Ireland, is sponsored by Letterkenny-based Pramerica Systems Ireland Limited in partnership with the National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD) and the General Teaching Council for Northern Ireland (GTCNI).
“We’re delighted to recognise and showcase such exemplary young people,” said Henry McGarvey, managing director, Pramerica Systems Ireland Ltd.  “Over the past six years, Pramerica Spirit of Community has given us the opportunity to acknowledge the voluntary activities of hundreds of exceptional youth ambassadors who are actively making a difference in their communities.”
The finalists were selected from post-primary schools across the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. The finalists are judged on their motivation, service, impact, sustainability, commitment and personal challenge.
“Pramerica Spirit of Community is growing each year,” said Dónal Ó Buachalla, president, NAPD. “The secondary schools are proud of their young ambassadors and this programme offers a platform to highlight their achievements. The awards offer students the opportunity to share common interests with fellow volunteers.”
Ivan Arbuthnot, chairperson, of GTCNI said, “These awards recognise the huge contribution that our youth make in their respective communities but also in communities overseas. We congratulate the finalists who have selflessly given of their time.”
The selection committee that will choose the two All-Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year will include Hume as chair; Henry McGarvey; Ivan Arbuthnot; Tim Geraghty, NAPD; Mary Davis, CEO Special Olympics EurAsia; and Yvonne McKenna, CEO, Volunteer Ireland.
The 20 finalists are:
Peter Armstrong, Royal Belfast Academical Institution, Belfast, Co. Antrim.
David Baigel, Castleknock College, Castleknock, Co. Dublin.
Aisling Baker, St. Patricks Grammar School, Downpatrick, Co. Down.
Laura Baldrick, Foyle College, Derry, Co. Londonderry.
Róisín Eyres, Scoil Mhuire, Clane, Co Kildare.
Aine Fahy, Presentation Secondary School, Warrenmount, Dublin 8.
Molly Gilmartin, Victoria College, Belfast, Co. Antrim.
Lucy Gray, Carrickfergus Grammar School, Carrickfergus, Co. Antrim.
Julie McConnell, Omagh High School, Omagh, Co. Tyrone.
Lucy McKinty, Glenlola Collegiate School, Bangor, Co. Down.
Aisling McManus, Sacred Heart Grammer School, Newry, Co. Down.
Amy Mitchell, New-Bridge Integrated College, Banbridge, Co. Down,
Róisín Nic Cárthaigh, Gaelcholáiste Choilm, Ballincollig, Co. Cork.
Richard Nolan, Borrisokane Community College, Borrisokane, Co. Tipperary.
Niall O’Keeffe, Patrician Academy, Mallow, Co. Cork.
Alison Peate, Christ King Secondary School, Douglas, Co. Cork.
Michelle Peacock, Downshire School, Carrickfergus, Co. Antrim.
Bonnie Shortall, St. Louis High School, Rathmines, Co. Dublin.
Shannon Stapleton, Scoil Ruain, Killenaule, Co. Tipperary.
Mark Wright, Loughshore Educational Resource Centre, Belfast, Co. Antrim.
Full biographies and pictures of the finalists as well as details about the 2012 Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards finalists can be downloaded at



© Copyright 2006 i3 Digital